Collegiate Editor Named Community College Journalist of the Year

Collegiate editor Austin Metz has been named the Michigan Community College Journalist of the Year by the Michigan Community College Press Association (MCCPA). The award was announced April 21 at the MCCPA annual conference at Central Michigan University.

Metz also won first-place awards in feature and column writing, and seven other second place awards in multi-media reporting, news writing, in-depth reporting, page design, blogging, and reviewing.

Metz was nominated in a letter of support by Collegiate Adviser Scott McNabb.

Other first-place awards were won by Justin Dawes for feature photography and First Amendment reporting, and Josh Compaan for Blogging.

Collegiate photo editor Stephanie Krings won a second place award for feature photography. Jessica Towell won awards for illustrating, and Chet Eagleman Jr. won an award for multi-media reporting.

The Collegiate staff received a second place for their web site, and an honorable mention for their print edition. Altogether this year’s staff won 26 awards in 28 categories.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s