GRCC In the News, 5-17-17

Bert Bleke leaving GRCC Board of Trustees, candidates sought to fill vacancy

May 16, 2017; MLive

GRAND RAPIDS, MI – Bert Bleke announced he would leave his position on the Grand Rapids Community College Board of Trustees, effective June 8, during the board’s Monday, May 15, meeting.

Fencing on parking garages in Grand Rapids deters suicides, falls

May 17, 2017; MLive

GRAND RAPIDS, MI – The city of Grand Rapids installed special fencing on the top of its parking garages three years ago to help prevent suicides or falls. The move came after three people had died.

… In January, a person was injured in what police say was a likely suicide attempt at a Grand Rapids Community College parking garage in the city. It had no fencing.

Phi Theta Kappa chapter wins awards at regional conference

The GRCC Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa recently attended a regional conference along with 31 other chapters.  We had nine students in attendance with us at this conference where the whole region elected new Regional Board members.  For the first time ever, GRCC had a student running for a regional board position.

We are excited to announce that Morgan Brown was elected Regional Board President for the 2017-2018 academic school year.

Morgan ran against five of her peers from across the region for this position and each candidate was first required to give a speech and answer questions. They also campaigned at a political rally to greet members and voting delegates prior to the election.

Morgan also won the prestigious Mike Sherman Candidate Award given to a candidate who was running for a regional position and was deemed the most motivational and supportive by their fellow candidates.

Other awards won by our chapter were:

  • Continued 5 Star excellence (for earning a 5 star status for the second year in a row).
  • Top 3 Officer Team for GRCC students Morgan Brown, Marcus Barissi, Gino Gonzalez, Caleb Graveldinger and Alex Brown.
  • Top 2 Advisor Team for Erin Busscher and Lynnae Selberg.
  • Visual Arts Award for Morgan Brown (her second consecutive win in this category).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.